Le Petit Prince by Antoine de Saint-Excupery

This year I’m doing this Major project. I’m organising a litle stage version of the Ltile prince. Ofcourse I could not call it “The litle prince” because that would be plagiarism. However I called it “Grote mensen zeggen wat ze willen” or roughly translated “Big people can say what they want”. I chose this title because the book is all about making funn of adults “Big people”. Last Tuesday I did the auditions and there were certainly a few people who stood out in the crowd.

#1 Sander As:  the Litle Prince

It’s a really stupid thing I based on when I was thinking of giving Sander the role of the litle prince. He’s little and he’s inocent apearance would really come in handy. However when he was reading he was kind of hapering , I really hope that happering goes away when he learns his lines because if that isn’t so I would be so totaly screwed

#2 Merel as: The Rose

Now it’s a verry small part. It’s also a verry important part at least : That’s the way I see it. I had her in mind from the verry begining. I’m best friends with her older sister and when I saw her , her red-like her and her bleu eyes they just had “It”  something a rose must have. Actually you can say that she didn’t even have to audition

#3 Samantha as : The King

When she walked in , I thought that she was nothinh special but when I asked her to read the part of the King for me I was fairly surprised. Such arrogance such confidence such air. I was impressed from that moment on. Later I heard that she takes Acting lessons , That doesn’t suprise me.

#4 Anne- Roos as: The Conceited Man

Anne- Roos was serious the only serious one in her group first I had the king in ming and then I thought that the Conceited Man and The King are verry much alike they are both arrogant and want to be adored

#5 Jiska as: The Fox

Now Jiska was a verry shy girl at first. I had the part of the fox for somebody else in mind somebody who i thought would be verry suitable. But when I saw Jiska and she began to read. I was sold.

#6 David as: The narator

My most advanced actor. Not that the rest is not advanced but he is the most advanced. Me and David go a way back we went to the same theatre school together. I insisted on having him as my Narrator . I begged him for weeks , and weeks. Untill he finaly gave in under two conditions

He had to get hours for it& His best friend (Jesse Van Driel) would be auditioning to

#7 Niels as : The businesmann

In my eyes , the businesman had to talk fast. He was rather bussy and didn’t really want to talk. So when I asked Niels to speed it up a bit he did . And it was great : Yet Fast , Yet verry understandable

#8 Jesse as : The Geographer / The Drunkard

I had heard a lot of stories about Jesse. I knew he was the son of the drama teacher. I know his acting qualities were beyond compare. But I also heard that he could be rather arrogant and bitchy sometimes. So I was verry carefull with my decision. It al began when I handed him the Audition Note. I screamed “Jesse” he looked and I gave him the note he smiled and said thanks. He was the last of our auditors just because he didn’t have time so we needed to stay late just for Jesse. But I must admit He’s a keeper 😉

Made By: Me

Poster of the Litle Prince

 

Leave a Reply

